Library Card Registration Policy
ALL RESIDENTS OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY AND THE STATE OF TEXAS are entitled to all the services of Montgomery County Memorial Library System.
Non-residents of the State of Texas may acquire a card by providing both short term Texas residency and a permanent out of state address. Staff members will enter the permanent address in the actual address line. The local address will be entered in the note field.
All adults must be present to receive their library card unless a medical condition exists and the manager has preapproved their absence.
Registering Children as Library Patrons
Library cards may be issued to children 5 years old and older. When the minor child becomes 18 years old, the card may be changed to adult status. At 18 years old, juveniles are not responsible for fines accrued as a juvenile. If a patron with fines on the juvenile card becomes 18, staff will create a new adult account.
Children between ages 5 and 17 years old must have a parent or guardian present when they are getting a library card. If both parents are present, they may both be added to the account. A parent registering their child may add the other parent who is not present. Library staff will add the name in the GUARDIAN FIELD in the account. Staff cannot add another adult as a guardian without the permission of guardian listed in the account.
The parent or guardian must meet the qualification for a library card. If the parent or guardian’s library account is blocked due to fines or fees over $25, the fines and/or fees must be under $25 in order to issue a child’s card. The parent or guardian claims all physical and financial responsibility for the card and items checked out on that card.
Juvenile - Children between the ages of 5 and 12 are juveniles.
Young Adult - Children between the ages of 13 and 17 are young adults.
(Effective date October 1 2010)